The Novel in the Viola

In the spring of 1938 Elise Landau arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay.

The Novel in the Viola

In the spring of 1938 Elise Landau arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay. A bright young thing from Vienna forced to become a parlour-maid, she knows nothing about England, except that she won't like it. As servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn, Elise wears her mother's pearls beneath her uniform, and causes outrage by dancing with a boy called Kit. But war is coming and the world is changing. And Elise must change with it. At Tyneford she learns that you can be more than one person - and that you can love more than once.

More Books:

The House at Tyneford
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Natasha Solomons
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-12-27 - Publisher: Penguin

Fans of Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden and TV’s Downton Abbey will love this sweeping New York Times bestselling historical novel of love and loss. The start of an affair, the end of an era... It’s the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna.
The Novel in the Viola
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Natasha Solomons
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-04-28 - Publisher: Hachette UK

In the spring of 1938 Elise Landau arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay. A bright young thing from Vienna forced to become a parlour-maid, she knows nothing about England, except that she won't like it. As servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn, Elise wears
Jewish Identities in Contemporary Europe
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Andrea Reiter, Lucille Cairns
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-02 - Publisher: Routledge

Providing an assessment of Jewish identity, this volume presents critical engagements with a number of Jewish writers and filmmakers from a variety of European countries, including Austria, France, Germany, Poland, and the UK. The novels and films discussed explore the meaning of being Jewish in Europe today, and investigate the
Edinburgh Companion to Modern Jewish Fiction
Language: en
Pages: 456
Authors: David Brauner
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-06-07 - Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

This book provides a critical overviews of the main writers and key themes of Anglophone Jewish fiction; highlighting the rich diversity of the field, identifying key themes, analysing the main trends in Anglophone Jewish fiction and situating them in a historical context.
Domestic Abuse in the Novels of African American Women
Language: en
Pages: 188
Authors: Heather Duerre Humann
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-21 - Publisher: McFarland

The literary tradition begun by Zora Neale Hurston in the 1930s has since flourished and taken new directions with a diverse body of fiction by more contemporary African-American women writers. This book examines the treatment of domestic violence in Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God, Gayl Jones's Corregidora, Gloria Naylor's