The Sixth Extinction

Through these stories, Kolbert provides a moving account of the disappearances occurring all around us and traces the evolution of extinction as concept, from its first articulation by Georges Cuvier in revolutionary Paris up through the ...

The Sixth Extinction

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes Over the last half a billion years, there have been five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In The Sixth Extinction, two-time winner of the National Magazine Award and New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert draws on the work of scores of researchers in half a dozen disciplines, accompanying many of them into the field: geologists who study deep ocean cores, botanists who follow the tree line as it climbs up the Andes, marine biologists who dive off the Great Barrier Reef. She introduces us to a dozen species, some already gone, others facing extinction, including the Panamian golden frog, staghorn coral, the great auk, and the Sumatran rhino. Through these stories, Kolbert provides a moving account of the disappearances occurring all around us and traces the evolution of extinction as concept, from its first articulation by Georges Cuvier in revolutionary Paris up through the present day. The sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy; as Kolbert observes, it compels us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.

More Books:

The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Elizabeth Kolbert
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-02-11 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes Over the last half a billion years,
The 6th Extinction: A Novel By James Rollins | Conversation Starters
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: dailyBooks
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-13 - Publisher:

The 6th Extinction: A Sigma Force Novel By James Rollins | Conversation Starters A Brief Look Inside: The 6th Extinction, James Rollins latest novel in the Sigma Force series, sees the members of the secret branch under DARPA race to different exotic locations in the world to thwart the plan
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: James Rollins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-28 - Publisher: Hachette UK

The NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author returns with a gripping, high-concept adventure thriller in the Sigma Force series - for fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton. A remote military research station in Utah sends out a frantic distress call, ending with a chilling final command: Kill us all! By
The 6th Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Elizabeth Kolbert
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-06 - Publisher: Perfection Learning

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE ONE OF THE "NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW"'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A "NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER A NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 271
Authors: Richard E. Leakey, Roger Lewin
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1996 - Publisher: Anchor

Chronicling five times in the history of the earth in which more than half of all living species disappeared in a geological instant, a geological study states that we are on the brink of a sixth mass extinction and presents supporting evidence. Reprint.