Stupid Things I Won t Do When I Get Old

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist ...

Stupid Things I Won t Do When I Get Old

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist Steven Petrow. Soon after his 50th birthday, Steven Petrow began assembling a list of “things I won’t do when I get old”—mostly a catalog of all the things he thought his then 70-something year old parents were doing wrong. That list, which included “You won’t have to shout at me that I’m deaf,” and “I won’t blame the family dog for my incontinence,” became the basis of this rousing collection of do’s and don’ts, wills and won’ts that is equal parts hilarious, honest, and practical. The fact is, we don’t want to age the way previous generations did. “Old people” hoard. They bore relatives—and strangers—with tales of their aches and pains. They insist on driving long after they’ve become a danger to others (and themselves). They eat dinner at 4pm. They swear they don’t need a cane or walker (and guess what happens next). They never, ever apologize. But there is another way . . . In Stupid Things I Won’t Do When I Get Old, Petrow candidly addresses the fears, frustrations, and stereotypes that accompany aging. He offers a blueprint for the new old age, and an understanding that aging and illness are not the same. As he writes, “I meant the list to serve as a pointed reminder—to me—to make different choices when I eventually cross the threshold to ‘old.’” Getting older is a privilege. This essential guide reveals how to do it with grace, wisdom, humor, and hope. And without hoarding.

More Books:

Stupid Things I Won't Do When I Get Old
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Steven Petrow
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-29 - Publisher: Citadel Press

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist Steven Petrow. Soon after his 50th birthday, Steven Petrow began assembling a list
I Don't Give a F***!
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Prem Dayal
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com

Books about I Don't Give a F***!
Mr. Opp
Language: en
Pages: 172
Authors: Alice Hegan Rice
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-05-15 - Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

Reproduction of the original: Mr. Opp by Alice Hegan Rice
The African Son
Language: en
Pages: 624
Authors: James C. Johnston Jr
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-01 - Publisher: iUniverse

"In 1815, deep within Africa, a fifteen-year-old prince of the Matabele nation is captured and sold to slave traders in Mozambique. As he travels on a ship bound for America, the prince realizes he will never again hear his name--Atachawayo--cried out in greeting. But as soon as the ship docks
Growing Up on the Set
Language: en
Pages: 389
Authors: Tom Goldrup, Jim Goldrup
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-06 - Publisher: McFarland

Former child actor Paul Petersen once said, “Fame is a dangerous drug and should be kept out of the reach of children.” It is certainly true that many child actors have fallen prey to the dangers of fame and suffered for it later in life, but others have used fame