Reckless Daughter

That same month, February '65, Joni Anderson gave birth to a daughter. A month earlier, she had moved out of the Annex rooming house and into an apartment above the nearby Lickin' Chicken restaurant with Vicky Taylor, another folk ...

Reckless Daughter

Joni Mitchell has only visited the U.S. Top 40 singles chart four times in her long recording career - and the Top 20 just once. So much for 'stoking the starmaker machinery behind the popular song', as she sang in her 1974 song 'Free Man in Paris'. What Joni has done, on the other hand, is record a handful of masterful albums - Blue, Court And Spark, The Hissing Of Summer Lawns for starters - that prove she is right up there with the big boys: with Bob Dylan, Brian Wilson and Stevie Wonder. Few women can hold a candle to her oeuvre: maybe Aretha Franklin, maybe Kate Bush, Bjork, Joanna Newsom. Airs and graces she may have, but airs and graces backed up by 'Woodstock', 'The Arrangement', 'A Case Of You', 'Help Me', 'Dog Eat Dog' and 'The Magdalene Laundries' are forgivable. Some of Mitchell's songs are great art. Almost all are emotionally complex and musically gripping. Reckless Daughter collects some of the most incisive commentary on Joni's music - and some of the most candid conversations she has had with journalists during her long career. From a review of her first performance at L.A.'s legendary Troubadour in 1968 to a career-sweeping 1998 interview by MOJO's Dave DiMartino, this anthology of almost 60 articles charts every stage of Joni's extraordinary journey as a singer, songwriter and artist.

More Books:

Reckless Girls
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Rachel Hawkins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-04 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Instant New York Times and USA Today bestseller From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes Reckless Girls, a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. ONE ISLAND Beautiful,
Reckless Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: David Yaffe
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-17 - Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books

"She was like a storm." —Leonard Cohen Joni Mitchell may be the most influential female recording artist and composer of the late twentieth century. In Reckless Daughter, the music critic David Yaffe tells the remarkable, heart-wrenching story of how the blond girl with the guitar became a superstar of folk
Reckless Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Barney Hoskyns
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-11-03 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Joni Mitchell has only visited the U.S. Top 40 singles chart four times in her long recording career - and the Top 20 just once. So much for 'stoking the starmaker machinery behind the popular song', as she sang in her 1974 song 'Free Man in Paris'. What Joni has
The beautiful forever tales
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Beautiful forever tales
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 1869 - Publisher:

Books about The beautiful forever tales
A Very Naughty Girl
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: L. Meade
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-05 - Publisher: Litres

Books about A Very Naughty Girl