A Good Enough Mother

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama.

A Good Enough Mother

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . . Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality.... An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.

More Books:

A Good Enough Mother
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Bev Thomas
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-04 - Publisher: Penguin

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist
Good Enough Mothering?
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Elizabeth Bortolaia Silva
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-11 - Publisher: Routledge

Currently, lone mothers and their children make up almost 20 per cent of families with dependent children in the UK, a threefold increase since 1970. Yet, while they are often cited by politicians as both a symptom and cause of social breakdown, relatively little is known of the causes, consequences
Goodenoughmothering
Language: en
Pages: 198
Authors: Elaine Heffner LCSW EdD
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-07 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

This book is a selection of short articles that appeared during a two year period as posts on the blog, goodenoughmothering.com. Author, Dr. Elaine Heffner, has been involved in parent education for many years. In this book she addresses many of the concerns of mothers in particular, and discusses many
The Good-Enough Mother
Language: en
Pages: 330
Authors: Anoushka Beazley
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-07-03 - Publisher: Anoushka Beazley

Satirical black comedy about a mother who struggles to pay her daughter's private school tuition.
Good-enough Mothering Versus Individuation
Language: en
Pages: 150
Authors: Nancy E. Savel
Categories: Individuation (Philosophy)
Type: BOOK - Published: 1981 - Publisher:

Books about Good-enough Mothering Versus Individuation