Brother Sister Mother Explorer

A fableistic, "beautifully crafted, poetic" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review).

Brother  Sister  Mother  Explorer

A fableistic, "beautifully crafted, poetic" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review). In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their mother's passing, two siblings spend a final weekend together in their childhood home. Seeing her brother, Rafa, careening toward a place of no return, Rufina devises a bet: if they can make enough money performing for privileged tourists in the plaza over the course of the weekend to afford a plane ticket out, Rafa must commit to living. If not, Rufina will make her peace with Rafa's own plan for the future, however terrifying it may be. As the siblings reckon with generational and ancestral trauma, set against the indignities of present-day prejudice, other strange hauntings begin to stalk these pages: their mother's ghost kicks her heels against the walls; Rufina's vanished child creeps into her arms at night; and above all this, watching over the siblings, a genderless, flea-bitten angel remains hell-bent on saving what can be saved.

More Books:

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Jamie Figueroa
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-02 - Publisher: Catapult

A fableistic, "beautifully crafted, poetic" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review). In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas,
Keeping Brothers and Sisters Connected
Language: en
Pages: 2
Authors: Jamie Figueroa
Categories: Brothers and sisters
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011 - Publisher:

Books about Keeping Brothers and Sisters Connected
Every Time I Want to Play, Brother and Sister Get in My Way
Language: en
Pages: 24
Authors: Tammy Raden
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

"Every Time I Want to Play Brother and Sister Get in My Way" is a children's picture book that the author wrote for her own children when they were very young. The author wanted to give her oldest child a different way of looking at why his younger twin siblings
Coping With the Death of a Brother or Sister
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: Ruth Ann Ruiz
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-12-15 - Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc

Talks about the stages of emotional grief that children face after a loved one has died.
When a Brother Or Sister Dies
Language: en
Pages: 140
Authors: Claire Berman
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009 - Publisher: ABC-CLIO

"Nothing less than a fully realized vision of a young complicated girl." --Entertainment Weekly Tomboy Alice Bliss is heartbroken when she learns that her father, Matt, is being deployed to Iraq. Matt will miss seeing Alice blossom into a full-blown teenager: she'll learn to drive, join the track team, go