An Unhallowed Grave

She's not been laid east to west, which indicates this wasn't a standard Christian burial. If she'd died accidentally, or been murdered, she would have been buried in the churchyard. As it was, she ended up in an unhallowed grave.

An Unhallowed Grave

A twisted murder mirrors a dark legend . . . When the body of Pauline Brent is found hanging from a yew tree in a local graveyard, DS Wesley Peterson immediately suspects foul play. Then history provides him with a clue. Wesley's archaeologist friend, Neil Watson, has excavated a corpse at his nearby dig - a young woman who, local legend has it, had been publicly hanged from the very same tree before being buried on unhallowed ground five centuries ago. Wesley is now forced to consider the possibility that the killer knows the tree's dark history. Has Pauline also been 'executed' rather than murdered, and, if so, for what crime? To catch a dangerous killer Wesley has to discover as much as he can about the victim. But Pauline appears to have been a woman with few friends, no relatives and a past she has carefully tried to hide . . . The third gripping mystery in the DI Wesley Peterson series by award-winning crime writer Kate Ellis. The perfect page-turning mystery for fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves. PRAISE FOR KATE ELLIS: 'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The Times 'I loved this novel' Ann Cleeves 'Haunting' Independent 'Unputdownable' Bookseller 'The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end' Closer 'A fine storyteller, weaving the past and present in a way that makes you want to read on' Peterborough Evening Telegraph

More Books:

An Unhallowed Grave
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Kate Ellis
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-01-06 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A twisted murder mirrors a dark legend . . . When the body of Pauline Brent is found hanging from a yew tree in a local graveyard, DS Wesley Peterson immediately suspects foul play. Then history provides him with a clue. Wesley's archaeologist friend, Neil Watson, has excavated a corpse
A Thousand Points of Truth
Language: en
Pages: 792
Authors: V. P. Hughes
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-18 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

My interest in Colonel John Singleton Mosby began in 1950. However, it wasn’t until 2002 that it led to extensive research on the subject, centered upon newspaper reports on the man begun during the Civil War and continued throughout—and even after—his life. And while I rejected Virgil Carrington Jones’s observation
The Burial Circle
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Kate Ellis
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-02-06 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A skeleton discovered. A murder to be solved . . . On a stormy night in December, a tree is blown down on an isolated Devon farm. When the fallen tree is dragged away, a rucksack is found caught amongst the roots - and next to it is a human
The Vampire Tarot
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Robert Michael Place
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-11-03 - Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

The Vampire Tarot ties the tales and mythic figures associated with the vampire legend to the equally iconographic figures and forms of the tarot. This book explores the history of the vampire starting with Bram Stoker's classic 1897 novel, Dracula, as well as those writings that inspired Stoker and the
The Metropolitan Magazine
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Robert Michael Place
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 1848 - Publisher:

Books about The Metropolitan Magazine